Chelsea

11698826_10152862754057181_6733555944982580102_nI first met Chelsea in September 2014. We moved into the “purple monster” house in the Shaw neighborhood of Washington, D.C. and immediately hit it off. I studied abroad in Bangkok and she spent six months traveling throughout Southeast Asia. It was love at first sight.

We spent the next six months gradually getting to know each other, learning each others quirks, sense of humors and life histories. She became my best friend in D.C. and I thank Craigslist endlessly for bringing us together. Eventually, we talked about taking a trip abroad together. I was itching to get out of the District and she was always up for something new. Chelsea’s Canadian friend Alannah was interested in joining us as well, so the conversations started to flow between us in November 2014.

After considering South Africa, India and Ecuador. We set on Colombia for a 10-day extravaganza. Chelsea and I planned to take the majority of our vacation days at once to embark on a new adventure together–making more memories with one another in a new part of the world.

Chels did something similar to what I’m about to do a few years ago and has been my “spirit guide” along the way. I honestly don’t know if I would have arrived at this point without her asking me all the right questions, comforting me when I was in doubt and inspiring me to take the leap.

I’m more than excited to see how these short 10 days are going to bring us closer together.  And am lucky to start off this adventure with Chels by my side.

Leave a Reply

